Noob Assistance

alison75

Hi everyone,

I'm a Noob, just signed up today. Looks like you have a great forum here so I'm looking forward to spending a bit of time here.

I have a keen interest to get into fishing. I have no real experience apart from a handful of outlings about 10 years ago so I'd appreciate some advise on gear and how to 'learn' to fish!

I have a Shimano Billwhip laying around here somewhere (in a groovy red velvet bag) but I'm not sure what type of fishing its suitable for. I have no other equipment so any advise on what I should get is appreciated (hoping to take advantage of the Sydney sales to get some gear!!).

I have no fishing buddies or boat so I'll be doing some 'safe' rock fishing - nothing too tricky as I will be solo most the time.

Can anyone offer any advise so I dont wast my $$ buying the wrong stuff?

Cheers,

Ali :thumbup:

:1welcomeani: to the Site Ali.

There are a lot of keen rock fishos on the site and they will help you out for sure.

Just a quick tip as you start your new journey,

Rockfishing should always be done with a friend and make sure you do all the saftey checks before you venture onto any ledges.

Regards Swordfisherman

I have been fishing for a long time and a long time ago I decided that the exposed rocks (those facing the open ocean) are no place for me. I'm not altogether happy with the risk. I am a very strong swimmer but the surf has taught me a few lessons I don't want to revisit in the vicinity of rocks.

Now that's just me. However, as a newby, I don't recommend rock fishing without the presence of someone in the know and definitely not solo.

There are so many options available to you that are more appropriate for fishing alone. From the shore around Sydney Harbour certainly comes to mind.