Rigging Braid

stricko4

Hi Raiders,

I'm pretty new to this fishing business but am enjoying every chance I get to wet a line. But I need some help/advice on this braid stuff. I have one rod that I use for most applications, an Ugy Stick Light 6'6" with a Shimano something reel loaded with 8lb braid. Bloody wonderful stuff it is too. You can feel every little touch on your bait or SP. The question I have though is I've been told you can't have a running sinker set up with braid as the sinker will pretty quickly stuff the braid resulting in a bust off when I fianlly do hook a fish. Is this the case & if so what rig should I use in place of the running sinker rig? Or should I go back to mono? Or should i have a second combo set up with mono for when I want to bait fish? Most of my fishing so far has been in BB & the Georges River so there is a mix of bait & SP fishing. Any advice will be apreciated.

Hi Kingys

I usually use a running sinker on braid and haven't noticed it particularily wearing the line, I run a plastic bead between the sinker and the swivel because you will get wear from the sinker banging the knot. As domza said just keep an eye on it which you should anyway as you'll get wear from the line rubbing on underwater obstacles anyway.

Cheers

Evil

Edited by Evil

only SOME braided lines wear with the use of a sinker (gel spun ones like fireline, hercules and other non-true braids for an example), i have both and they suck for bait soaking :thumbdown:

some options to consider are joining a fluro leader of 2 metres or so directly to the braid with either a uni to uni or albright knot or something similar just to give the sinker some mono to ride up against, this should limit your 'bustoffs'.

another option is to purchase quality true braided lines which are designed to cop sinkers (FINS or climax for example)