Salt And Freshwater Fly Tying!

Hi Guys,

Fly Fishing is certainly another form of catching fish and I have at times outfished people using lures with a fly.

As I am a keen fly tier, I am just wondering who else is?

Maybe we could conduct a mini Fishraider fly swap?

Thoughts?

PS: I will post some of my flies on here shortly.

Although I've only just got my flyrod, I enjoy tying my own flies. Mainly clousers and crazy charlies as all I've got is bucktail ATM

When I was a kid, I used to tye trout flies with my uncle in the UK. Now, may years later, I'm a novice salt water fly fisherman. Go figure... I suppose it's in the blood. :D

I'm joining a fly fishing club here in Sydney and I've signed up for a casting course from a bloke from Tassie who comes highly recommended. Maybe next season I'll catch my first fish on fly...

Guest bluecod

Maybe next season I'll catch my first fish on fly...

Why wait that long - bream, flathead, mullet, trevally, salmon - all winter options in Sydney.

Marlinmadness - I'm in depending on the timing

Edited by bluecod

hi:

I am new to saltwater fly fishing as I mainly fly fish for trout but I would like to get into tying and fishing

saltwater flies. I don't get to to ocean very much so I pretty much have to fish depending on circumstances

from the shore but at least I am finding saltwater fly fishing has lot of similarities.

If I find and tie patterns that could be useful for the fish I saw in Brisbane I'll post them. I am thinking of good shrimp patterns for fish like whiting and bream; sliders and poppers for night fishing, and floating flies to replicate the action of hardbody plugs.

For trout fishing I mainly fish one nymph (different sizes) and concentrate on the presentation and detecting the take. I read books on fly fishing the salt shoreline and what I can gather is the fishing problems for trout fishing and saltwater fishing from shore is similar.