Novice Boater Needs Advice

TXL

Hi guys, i am new to this great site and was hoping to pick a few seasoned fishos brains. i have recently purchased a 4.3 metre forward steer runabout with 40 hp mercury which i am very happy with. however when i have ventured into rougher water any where past middle head in sydney harbour i have felt very uncomfortable would this area be considored safe in reasonable conditions or am i being a big pansy. i would be interested to know if fellow fishos use a similar sized boat and how they go fishing near the heads and also running the gauntlet under the harbour bridge. what sea conditions are to be avoided ?

If you dont feel comfortable head into some of the sheltered bays until you become more confident in how to handle these conditons.

If in doubt ,dont go out

:dito:

That is probably going to be the best advice that you are going to get TXL.

by far the best advice(swordfisherman) i got a 375 quinnie iv had it for 3 years now and know wat it can handle i have been as far as the heads in it but its gotta be a good day or its parra 4 me your better of having a good day on the river than a bad day on the harbour till you get use to it

cheers mick

Hi

Just remember that it is better to be SAFE in smoother water wondering what the fishing is like outside, rather than BE outside wondering how you are going to get back in alive! Play it safe, you can also take an experienced person with you, if you need a confidence booster...

Geoff

What Stewy said!!

Being new to boating can be daunting, it is as much about the skippers skills as the boat. Just take your time and enjoy the expereince, you will get to know the limits of your vessel and your self quite quickly.

Play it on the safe side.

Cheers.

Robbie.

Guest Reely