New Boat

rob roy

Hi Guys,

New to this forum, i've recently sold my boat, and i'm going to organise a test drive of a Quicksilver 580 Lightning, powered by Mercury 135 optimax, i have done all the negotiations with the dealer and i'm fairly happy with deal, but i have not been able to find any info on boat tests on this brand, as i'm a bit of a novice i would appreciate any advice on what i should look for on the test, or better someone who has one or knows of someone who has one and if they are happy with it.

Regards Roy

Good Morning Roy, the Quicksilver range of glass boats are made in NZ and marketted here by Mercury. I have been in the 5.8M and the hull is OK, a bit light and in my opinion a bit dated in fitout and finish, but when we were looking at selling them the price was right, but we still chose not to stock them. I think the price should be around the $45K for the package you are looking at, even less if it is a superceeded model which I know the dealer here in Sydney has left in stock. I heard a rumor that they are not stocking them anymore so back-up might be an issue or it could be wrong all together-I would ask.

The OPTI V6 is a powerful and fuel efficient engine but in my opinion, after running heaps of them, they are too noisey compared to the other "Clean Tec" engines on the market. Best thing to do is, as you mentioned, go for a run and see if you like the boat and engine for yourself.

You should also check out the 580 Breeze Haines Hunter we have listed in the "Boat of the Week" section because it would not be much more than the Quicksilver in terms of price and it has a lot of options and is a far superior boat in my opinion.

Just my 2 cents worth,

Huey.