Boat Mods

The Iceman

Seen this boat for sale at a good price but am unsure about the modifications The extended spraychine is what concerns me digging in when turning Any opinions Huey Pelican?

post-62-1220683601_thumb.jpg

strange! what purpose does it serve.

it wouldnt worry me though. i have a step on one side that digs in, if you try to do doughnuts

the simple solution is dont drive like an idiot and it wont happen :tease:

Edited by CaineS

I would think it would be to deflect spray

I wouldnt be driving like an idiot I have around thirty years of experience driving boats which is why I am asking the question as a gut feeling is telling me it just isnt right but theres no reason why I couldnt cut it back

Pity the boat isnt in Sydney otherwise I would be taking it for a spin

Stessl did that sort of mod on there Bass Boss range. Called a Trak Rail or similar. The idea was to give the hull more bite in the turn and I believe worked quite well.

That said I don't recall them being that big even on the 6m Hull. they look more like wings! :biggrin2:

Cheers

Chris

i think the stessel (edge trackers )your thinking of were sort of straight down more like the sponsons of a cat were that is or looks more like a spray defecter,take it for a run if your happy hand over the hard earned,although i would think that these mods would affect the resale value or be harder to sell with potencial buyers having the same thought s as yourself

on another note these modifications might be excellent (take it for a run)you might be pleasenly suiprised

cheers arman

possibly a bit large for a boat of that size. looks as though it may dig a bit but with all the weight at the rear could work????

i couldn't imagine anyone would go to such trouble for no reason though.

could be a good thing but wouldnt tow from brisvegas with little wheels like that

Edited by VA911