Penrith Gorge

glennmreid

Took the boat out with the new motor today to the Nepean at Penrith. I really haven't fished much fresh water before. Have been to a few fresh water dams, but my fresh water fishing is pretty limited. Another thing which I haven't done much before is lure fishing.

Trolled around and not much happened. Threw out some spinnerbaits, and the same result, nothing. Thought I would try out my Smith Bisen cicado surface popper. Then the action happened. I lost 4 fish, and caught 4 bass. One of the fish I lost was my own fault. I hooked a good fish when bringing the lure in, but wasn't paying too much attention as I got distracted by a girl wearing a bikini getting a ride on a jetski. The lure got smashed when I was distracted. Must have been a tatic from the bass :074: The bass that I landed were only small, but a first for me. Never caught wild bass before, and I have never fished the gorge before. I was pretty happy considering that I am a novice, when it comes to freshwater fishing, and a novice with lures. Can't believe that size of the lures the small bass attack.

A great day out. Really enjoyed myself. Have to give the :wife: a few lessons in boat driving, had some close calls at times with rocks with her skills. Probably punishment for me losing that good bass when I was simply observing jetski's :074:

post-3324-1225958485_thumb.jpg

post-3324-1225958495_thumb.jpg

post-3324-1225958505_thumb.jpg

:yahoo::yahoo: Great stuff Glenn. A new style of fishing, chasing a new species ... and a brand new motor to play with! :thumbup: How did it go? Any bass (regardless of size) would have been a bonus, and you managed a few! Well done. You will become more proficient and productive now that you have landed a couple. Terrific report mate ... keep 'em comin'

Cheers

Hodgey