Boats That Have Broached On You

martinc

I will kick off this string on some not so memorable events.

My old 1981 Quinny Breezeabout out in a black nor easter off Longy, with three people on board - broaching like a surfboat when I was a newbie to the game. Lesson - keep the crew (weight) down the back of the boat.

Have come close to broaching the 1980 Lazeabout I have now - but are aware of its limitations - I dont ride swells! A mate warned me - he broke off the steering wheel when he broached one. (Tks SteveH).

Guest Jocool

Thankfully I have never broached a boat.

I must admit, I spent a very VERY harrowing night on Botany Bay a few years back when I got caught out there in a southerly.

For anyone that doesnt know Botany, its a bitch in a southerly. I was trying to keep my little Stebercraft afloat while trying to negotiate 3+ meter waves! :o Needless to say I shit myself! This was basically on old Steber that was designed for cruising and it had a real flat bottom!

Thankfully I have never broached a boat.

I must admit, I spent a very VERY harrowing night on Botany Bay a few years back when I got caught out there in a southerly.

For anyone that doesnt know Botany, its a bitch in a southerly. I was trying to keep my little Stebercraft afloat while trying to negotiate 3+ meter waves! :o  Needless to say I shit myself! This was basically on old Steber that was designed for cruising and it had a real flat bottom!

3m+ waves on Botany Bay. Must have been a howler of a Southerly Jocool :nana: :nana:

Can some explain to me what broaching actually is?

I have pushed the nose of my qunnie under water one day coming down a swell near the heads of botany bay (is this broaching?). Never felt like I was in trouble as the water just hit the wind screen and deflected off the boat before the nose popped up again. Haven''t done it since as its pretty easy to avoid if I am paying attention.

Broaching - its what those surf boats do when they ride a wave in to the beach.