Any Info On Fishing Batemans Bay?

FishDrought

G'Day Raider's.

I am heading down to Batemans Bay this weekend & taking the tinny (4.3M) with me. I have never fished the area before & I will have my two nephews with me so I would like to put them onto some fish. Unfortunately I have no knowledge of the waterways down there so any general info would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Jas

G'day Jas,

Are you looking to go up the river or out into the bay?

I fish there quite often, but not so much up the river. If you go out past Snapper Is which is just off the break wall and lign yourself up between the Tollgate Islands offshore and Snapper Is and go out 1/3 to 1/2 way betwen th two you will find some good Flatty grounds. I drifted there a couple of weeks ago and the drift took me in a S/W direction of that line and we picked up 46 keepers in 3 days, not record breaking, but still worth the effort. The bar is not too bad there. It can play up a bit in an easterly swell, but I have never seen it really bad.

If you are going up the river, I talked with a bloke who had a nice bucket of bream and a 60cm Flatty and he was hard up against the oyster leases fishing with chicken thigh fillets soaked in tuna oil and rolled in bread crumbs! I know, it sounds like something off Huey's cooking adventures but the 20lt bucket full of bream tells the story. He gave me his left over bait too so he was not telly any porky pies about the method. He was using berley too. There are heaps of leases there too, so take your pick.

Cheers

Nige

By the way, we were bottom fishing (obviously!) with Flathead as bait and plastics - Pumkin seed and Mango ripple. I was a little dubious to say the least when the good lady picked out the Mango Ripple(looks like it should be in a lolly shop), but she was catching more than I was on the pumpkin seed so I swapped over.