First Ever Squid!

tevoro

G'day Raiders!

(First fishing report.. please bear with me)

I've often read that catching squid is a really enjoyable experience, read and tried to do exactly what Slinkymalinky wrote about squiding

And more recently, inspired by a thread started by Penguin on Botany Celephods, I decided to get some squid jigs and drag a mate out, brave the cold, and head to the North side of the Harbour bridge.

Both of us being new fishos, we had no idea what to expect!

After 20 minutes of casting and retrieving without any takes, I must admit interest was waning.

Just as we were about to give up, we managed 2 decent hookups.

post-10093-1242650234_thumb.jpg

and

post-10093-1242650269_thumb.jpg

Did a salt and pepper on them.. oh happy times..

Would love it if the experts out there could provide some other spots to squid from!

Edit: Added pics, thanks monch.

Edited by tevoro

HI MATE NICE

ANY WAY I AM ONLY NEW TO SQUIDING MY SELF HOW EVER I HAVE LEARN A FEW THINGS

- BIG SQUID WILL ALMOST ALWAYS TAKE LIVE YT OVER JIG

-SQUIDING IS BETTER WHEN THERE IS NO MOON

- DONT BE TIGHT AND GET GOOD JIGS

-RETRIVE SLOW AS POSSIBLE

-GET THE LIGHTEST ROD AS POSSIBLE

GOOD LUCK

Good on you for snaring your first squid, always a thrill to get your first, it is a patience thing and with this success will come for you, I have spun for an hour sometimes for none , then caught 6-7 in the next 20 mins.

Congrats mate..

Cheers..

The spit bridge is worth a try, has never failed me yet.

Good luck

Where abouts at the Spit bridge? North side, or south side where the boats are moored?

I'm landbased.

Nice squid mate!!

when were you fishing

I went at night, at about 8pm. Low tide, brightish moon though.

Top report! I love all these new topics about successful squidding sessions.

Good job on your first squids! I have still yet to catch one myself, I hope I'll be as lucky as you next time I go.