Running Repairs

Jethro

I had a problem with my Minn Kota last weekend during the ABT comp. On closer inspection I found that 1 of the pins in the connector between the motor and the foot pedal had snapped off in the other side of the connector.

After a bit of cursing I thought how I am going to fix this as the only tools I had on board were pliers, screwdriver and a shifter.

I grabbed a brass jighead from the tackle box cut the head off and straightened the hook. I inserted the straight piece into where the pin had snapped off and put the connector back together and blow me down it worked.

I am pretty mechanically inept and was very happy with my running repair. It got me through to the end of the comp and its going away today to be repaired properly.

So what McGuiver type running repairs have you had to make on or off the water???

Geez ive got hundreds of these stories.

Heres a funny one,

When I was an apprentice mechanic a got dropped to a breakdown in the bush. Typical of my boss he would leave my in the middle of nowhere and the only way back was to fix the car and drive out.

Fault : split fuel line to the pump on an old HQ V8. Clamp was rooted and I didnt have one.

Ended up walking about a km through the bush to the fence of the property and cutting a piece of fence made from chicken wire out and using that to wire the hose in place. Funny day.

Guest Jewel

I have used a spear shaft to replace the key in a battery isolator when the little plastic key dropped into the bilge.

Mine isnt really a McGuiver type fix it, mine was just pure Dodginess. We were at the ramp and the bungs werent in the live bait tank where they are ALWAYS left, so i got some rubber and fill it gap filler and plugged it, this was about 5 months ago and we havent bothered with another bung since :biggrin2: