anchoring probs

mrbroadbill

G'DAY RAIDERS .

NEED TO SUM ADVICE OR HELP OR ANCHORING, IM HAVING TROUBLE WITH MY BOAT AT ANCHOR, BOAT SWAYS LEFT TO RIGHT WHEN I ANCHOR AND IT TAKES AGES TO GRAB.

I AM RUNNING AND SOUTH PACFIC GYPSY WITH 10 METRES OF 6 MM SHORT LINK CHAIN CONNECTED TO A 10lb SAND ANCHOR, BOAT SIZE IS 5.7M SAVAGE ALUMINIUM HULL.

IS THERE TO MUCH ROPE OUT ? ANCHOR SIZE?

AND WATS THE GO WITH THE CHAIN ? I KNOW YOU MUST LET OUT 3 TIMES THE DEPTH OF ROPE TO THE DEPTH OF WATER YOUR ANCHORED IN, SO DOES THAT INCLUDE THE CHAIN TO ?

ANY ADVICE WOULD BE GREAT CHEERS GUYS !!

Im no expert so maybe someone has some better advice, but having 10m of chain, wouldn't that mean you have to back up 10m before the slack on the chain is taken up and the anchor starts to drag and catch? I have a 4.75 aluminium boat with about 2 metres of chain before the rope.

Im no expert so maybe someone has some better advice, but having 10m of chain, wouldn't that mean you have to back up 10m before the slack on the chain is taken up and the anchor starts to drag and catch? I have a 4.75 aluminium boat with about 2 metres of chain before the rope.

I was led to believe that the length of the chain must be at least equal to the length of the boat. Sure 2m will hold in calm conditions but will usually let go when you really need it to hold.

G'DAY RAIDERS .

NEED TO SUM ADVICE OR HELP OR ANCHORING, IM HAVING TROUBLE WITH MY BOAT AT ANCHOR, BOAT SWAYS LEFT TO RIGHT WHEN I ANCHOR AND IT TAKES AGES TO GRAB.

I AM RUNNING AND SOUTH PACFIC GYPSY WITH 10 METRES OF 6 MM SHORT LINK CHAIN CONNECTED TO A 10lb SAND ANCHOR, BOAT SIZE IS 5.7M SAVAGE ALUMINIUM HULL.

IS THERE TO MUCH ROPE OUT ? ANCHOR SIZE?

AND WATS THE GO WITH THE CHAIN ? I KNOW YOU MUST LET OUT 3 TIMES THE DEPTH OF ROPE TO THE DEPTH OF WATER YOUR ANCHORED IN, SO DOES THAT INCLUDE THE CHAIN TO ?

ANY ADVICE WOULD BE GREAT CHEERS GUYS !!