help with fiberglassing

phatso

Big hello to anyone reading this,

to start with, i am very new to this sort of thing,ie using a forum, so please, feel free to jump in and help at anytime !

I have a 9 mtr cabin cruiser that i purchased in need of repair. It is ply with fiberglass over it. It had rot in a few places, mainly where the bow rail was, all of which i have cut out and replaced with new wood, all glued and screwed with the right materials. Iam now up to the fiberglassing part and i havn't got a clue how to go about it. Is there anyone who can describe to me a step by step approach to this ? I have put up some photos so, hopefully you can get a idea of what i am trying to do. Any help with this and a lot of other things along the way, would be very much appreciated.

With thanks, Phatso.post-17939-097280600 1301695691_thumb.jpgpost-17939-094816500 1301695696_thumb.jpgpost-17939-072979300 1301695701_thumb.jpg

Hi Phatso ,

Looks like you have quite a job ahead of you !! From experience , heres a few tips that may help :

1) Keep it clean !! After sanding the surface , wipe the prepared surface down with acetone . This will remove any dust or grease that may be on the surface.

2) Wear protective gloves at all times. Resin will burn your skin as it starts to cure , and acetone will dry your skin out like nobodies business ! A good barrier cream is advisable also.

3) Ventilation. Resin and acetone create toxic vapours, try to avoid breathing them as much as possible.

I have never attempted such a large scale repair , but have done many smaller ones. My personal preference is a layer of woven mat for the first layer , followed by a layer of chopped mat for subsequent layers. Finish off with a layer of gel coat.

A Google search for " Fibreglassing" or "Fibreglass Repairs " will get you a wealth of knowledge , read up as much as you can before you start , resin aint cheap , and it will go " off" quickly if not mixed properly.