Lake Lyell Trout

shred

G'day fellas has anyone fished Lyell recently? keen as to go up and have a crack for some trout. This is probably the closest to me for them as I live in penrith, I've Never done it before so if anyone could point me in the right direction to some answers as to what lures/gear to take, time of day that's the best or just anything that could help me That would make me very happy. Also I just got the new freshwater mag which said there was a decent population of bass in there also, I know it's not the best time of year but if trout are a no go i could always switch it up and have a crack at those. Any help or comments appreciated. Cheers :)

Likewise, I am looking at hitting the Lyell in the coming weeks.

Any advise would be appreciated.

Also, I heard that there was a big release of fish into the Lyell recently. Can anyone confirm this? I think it may have been a month or two ago though.

Cheers.

Not sure if the release was Trout of Bass? There is a great article in the current Freshwater Fishing about the Bass in Lyell. I have encountered them erratically over the years but only small, but the ones in this article were top looking fish.

Lyell is shaping up to be a real mixed fishery. Should be fishing very well for Trout at the moment though with plenty of water flowing in the Cox' there might be some good fish congregating up that arm getting ready for spawning. All though the sudden cold would have stopped any major insect life?

Hope that helps a bit :biggrin2:

Windy

Cheers for that lads I'll have to check the cox's arm out, powerbait you say killer? I'm not too knowledgable on the stuff but is there more than one sort? If so which one my friend? Also what sort of rigs are you guys using? Line weights hooks etc, cheers for the help fellas can't wait to get up there and have a go, just trying to make sure I can make it a relatively successful trip :)