Narrabeen lake

T jack

Over this winter I have been struggling to hook up to any good flattys in the lake at all.

I have always done very well in winter in past years just using s.p and on fly when the current isn't running to hard.

I would just like to know if I'm loosing it or is the lake just getting harder to fish.?

My first post.

Always found the lake hard to fish in winter. Just the odd flattie and bream but thats it. Best bet i'd say is back end of the lake on run out tide for a few bigger lizards. Much harder to come by atm though... You said you've had success in recent years so i'd stick to that for a while too!

Cheers, Tom

Hi T jack,

I dunno about the middle of the Narrabeen Lake, but try the feeder creeks. I'm no expert, nor am I a local, but I'm starting to get a sense of how this body of water might work. Yes, it is harder to fish this winter by all reports.

For a start, last summer's cooler temps and high rainfall will have impacted this lake far longer than many other coastal lakes. Now add the some of the coldest winter days on record. So no, you're not losing it.

A lot of people fish Narrabeen Lake from Woolies bridge down to the mouth. But I think the creeks at the back of the lake are well worth exploring as an alternative in the colder weather. They're more sheltered from the winds, so the water may be a tad warmer there.