Fishing Friday Night

nath_reptile

Ok, so I was bored on Friday arvo, spoke to the old man who was coming back in his cruiser after a couple of days floating round port hacking doing retired blokes with boats do....Sit around and fish!

Thought it would be better than doing nothing so met him at Burraneer Bay, he got off, I got on.... I took the boat out to Jibbon for the night and started catching some yellow tail and putting them in the bucket for bait..

Rigged up my new cheap as shi# game reel that I bought off online shop for $40 with 130m of 30 pound braid... :-rolleyes ...

Threw out a bait after dinner on the cheap reel and watched the unknowing yellowtail swim off in the distance... Sat back down to a beer with the radio going in the background. :icon_peace:

Off went the reel about 20 minutes later and the line was zipping off, I was excited even though I thought it was a ray, I tightened the drag and reefed it's head back in the direction of the boat...lol...(I'm new to using braid and love the strength, it's funny for me as I fish with 6pound trace).. The gears in this new reel are tiny and it takes 10,000 winds to pull in a meter of line, so it took quite a while to get it up to the boat, it's a Banjo.... Was fun bringing it in though, I pulled it onto the marlin board, it was nearly three feet long, took the hook out and let it go again....

Well, for the next three live baits I put out, I think I caught the same blooming Banjo, very annoying... I left the last yellowtail till bedtime and fished for nothing at all on nippers the old man had left me..

It was freezing cold so threw the last yellowtail out and hit the hay....