Advice for first boat?

alluring

I'm 20 years old and after a few years of putting money aside I'm starting to seriously consider buying my first boat. While I would eventually like a nice boat that's good to take out to sea I figure for the moment a tinny of some sort that'd be good for the rivers, lakes and estuaries around the south coast and canberra region would be best to start off on.

Because it's my first time I don't really have any idea where to start when looking for a boat. I guess my questions are what would I be looking for, things to watch out for, etc. I'm not really familar with many of the terms used either, I've searched around the web but I'm just wondering what advice you guys would have. Towing isn't a problem, and I'd be looking to spend anything up to $5000.

Thanks for your time!

alluring

I got a bargin for mine 2 years ago for 5k. It's a quintrex 420 WB dory and I reckon it would be still worth the same price. Its a slightly bigger boat, and I have a mercury 40hp on the back. Came with sounder, 2 canopies etc, looks better painted white too.

Once you've set your mind on a boat, be sure to take it for a test run at the nearest river.

Edited by The Incredible Hull

I got a bargin for mine 2 years ago for 5k. It's a quintrex 420 WB dory and I reckon it would be still worth the same price. Its a slightly bigger boat, and I have a mercury 40hp on the back. Came with sounder, 2 canopies etc, looks better painted white too.

Once you've set your mind on a boat, be sure to take it for a test run at the nearest river.

Thanks, that sounds awesome. Would you have any recommendations for a first boat? Like I said I've never owned one before, I don't have a license or anything yet either.. What should I be looking out for?

I've only owned mine for 2 years, so still quite new to the scene.

I would recommend quintrex, as my experience has been good - having said that, I think Stacers also make a good range and are cheaper.