Kingfish/Snapper Setup

Rodb73

Hi Raiders,

I've almost got the boat ready for Summer and I'm relatively new to boat fishing. I'm hoping I could grab some thoughts and suggestions for a setup suitable for Kings and Snapper, including line types and terminal tackle.

I'll be mainly fishing Botany Bay and the Hacking.

Thanks in advance and I look forward to the replies.

I guess the most important question......what is your budget? There are endless options from $250 up to $2000 or more - and I wouldn't advocate the lower price end. You do get what you pay for. How much are you likely to use it? Remember most likely it will take a fair bit of time on the water before it starts to work.......it is not a short term commitment.

Hi Twinfisher,

Well I'm definitely prepared for the commitment, but as far as the budget goes, I've thrown about 4 grand into my 15ft Nautiglass over the last couple of months and the missus will shoot me if I keep spending more.

So, I guess the budget will be around $600.00 for a little while.

I'm hoping that'll get me into some Kings over Summer.

Thanks again and I look forward to your suggestions.

Guest Aussie007

a nice penn reel works well they are cheap and robust and the HT-100 drag washers are sooooooo smooth i bought the 260 size for kingy fun and have had a ball with a lot of other species on it, penn reels are that great i pulled one up from the bottom at the hawkesbury river it was still on a rod with line hanging off it, it had barnicals and brown muddy crap all over the reel and rod, later the following day i cleaned up the reel and lubed it, first time using it was a couple fishing reports ago in my two videos catching a kingy and salmon on that exact reel i pulled in from the hawkesbury river lol

few years ago when i was right into kings i was using 45lb main line, 100lb leader for 75-80cm kings and from memory 80lb main line 100lb leader for the big bruisers off south botany head that measured 90cm+