Beginner | Tips/Advice

Simon1986

Hi All,

It's my first time posting here, hope I'm in the right section first of all.

Been reading these forums for a couple of weeks and have since registered.

I've been fishing since I was a kid but have never taken it seriously or gone fishing on my own until the last couple of months, but thing is... I realised there is a lot more to fishing then I originally thought hahahaha sorry

At the moment I have a horrible set up, no name rod, no name reel, wish some no name line 8lb that I was given for free. I'm finding I'm not doing so well and it's all got to do with my set up.

I'm land-base fishing, Botany Bay, Dolls Point, Captain Cook Bridge etc..

I want to get a new rod/reel but don't know where to start...

Was wanting some thoughts?

Hope you guys can help & hope this is right section

Welcome, good to see you getting keen. That rod and reel would be a good starting point but being land based I would look at a slightly longer rod. With a set up like that with say 10 pound braid you could handle just about anything from the locations you have named. Starting out you will be looking for utility value before you figure out what sort of fisho you want to develop into. Hell you could be chasing marlin from a charter boat or stalking wild bass or trout in a remote bush setting this time next year or next week.

Good luck and remember you can not have too much gear, only too much to use.

Thanks for all the advice so far guys!

So far I think I will be starting using bait, been buying prawns, worms & chicken guts.. Looking at targeting Bream, Flathead.. Wouldn't mind a Jewfish.. Seen a few smaller ones floating around Botany Boat ramp (would obviously throw them back, but would be cool to get one).