Help me with new Rod and Reel combo [NSW]

LearningFisher112

Hi there :banana:

Purpose: Fishing at Rose Bay and possible move onto Little Bay in the future.

I'm very new to fishing and only went fishing a few times. I'm looking to buy a rod.

I've been doing some research and I've been recoemmeneded the following rod:
- Daiwa D-Shock Spin Combos - 7', 3-7kg, 2 Piece

Is there any other suggestions? I planning to spend in the $70-$80 and under range.

My inital plans was to fish at the beach at little bay but it seems to dangerous, so I think its best to go to Rose Bay first :) Also, this type of fishing required 10"-12" rods which I don't think is a good starting point.

Any help and advice is highly appricated!

:fishing1:

Edited by LearningFisher112

Hi Mate,

What size fish are you hoping to target? If you're just thinking of pan sized fish my opinion is that 3-7kg is a little on the heavy side, you'll get a lot more fun out of a lighter rod and also will be able to cast lighter weights further. What size reel is on the combo?

Hi Mate,

What size fish are you hoping to target? If you're just thinking of pan sized fish my opinion is that 3-7kg is a little on the heavy side, you'll get a lot more fun out of a lighter rod and also will be able to cast lighter weights further. What size reel is on the combo?

Target: I heard there at Rose Bay there is whiting, bream, flathead. Not sure about little bay though (beach area).

I want to fish in various places and I think it's better to get something in the heavier side when I go somewhere else like the beach areas.

Reel size? I'm not too sure. But the rod does come in different types which are; Light, Med-heavy, and Ultralight.

I have noticed here in NSW the gear required to land a good eater is considerably lighter than from where I come from (FNQ).