New User / New angler! - help needed

Louiss

Hey guys!

firstly let me say hello. My name is Louis, I'm 21 years old from Leeds, UK. Currently living in Glebe and thought id try out a little bit of fishing as it is something that has always interested me!

Back home I used to do the occasional bit of pond fishing (mainly for carp) with my father, but am a complete novice when it comes to sea fishing.

I went to K mart and bought a Sport Fisher Saturn 6'6" Estuary Combo 2-4kg Castweight 5-20g (not sure if this will be any goood to use?) as it was the cheapest to start with

a few times I have wandered down to Blackwattle bay (next to the Hanson concrete plant) as this is close to where I live, and tried to fish using a small soft plastic.

I haven't had any luck yet (when I say I haven't had any luck, I mean I haven't even had a bite!).

I know I am doing it all wrong as I don't really know what I am doing haha!

Can anyone give me some tips please - preferable about setup, location (if where I am fishing is actually worth fishing) and just generaly anything you think will help me!

Thanks in advance guys!

Louis

Welcome to Fishraider Louis, you've come to the right place for info, help and fishing buddies. Like you I landed from the UK a couple of years back with a strong Carp/Fly fishing background but Australia is a completely different beast!

To start with it would help to know what's your plan... Catch and Release or Cook and Eat? If you're planning on cooking your fish then you'll need to start to "target" them, if you don't care what you're catching as long as it gives you a bit of fight and fun then that will open up the door a little bit more!