Watson's Bay/Rose Bay 07/02/15

adamski

Evenin' Raiders,

Jumped on the ferry from Circular Quay this morning and wasn't really paying attention- it called in at Watson's Bay before Rose Bay. I decided to get off for a flick as I've never tried it before. Had a few casts from the beach at the wharf poles hoping for some bream, but nothing was interested. Next I moved round and tried along the rock wall past the baths. Saw a decent-sized trev, but he wasn't for taking my crabby. After a few casts I hooked a decent weight and saw a flash of bright yellowy green as I got the fish to the surface. Thought it might be a good sized jacket to take home, but no- it's a puffer fish. I'm not a trained sashimi chef, so no fugu this evening! :(

post-33473-0-27027000-1423301403_thumb.jpg

Moved around to the wharf once the tide came in and managed a pike, a yakka and (I think) a little grinner- bloody hideous looking thing! Pike and yakka were on a peppered prawn crabby and grinner came on a bloodworm wriggler. Stayed around for a while after, but couldn't get any more hits, so made a move and jumped on the ferry to Rose Bay, where there were loads of fish, but no big ones on the chew. I managed a tiny pinkie and baby whiting- both on crabbies, but the flatties weren't interested in any plastic (tried pretty much the whole repetoire of profiles and colours I had in my bag). Tried the channel along by the boat club at low tide later in the afternoon and met a nice chap who told me someone pulled out a 5 kg flattie down there a week or two ago. He was getting little tailor on a tiny metal lure. I got weed clumps on every cast. ;)

All in all, it was nice to get out in the sun (I'm a bit burnt now), but getting a bit sick of trying Rose Bay for only very occasional reward. I also really need to stop using crabbies, which just seem to get picked to pieces by toadies the whole time. They're costing me an arm and a leg!

Cheers for reading!