Trip to Tasmania, first weekend in November

cameldownunder

Hi

This is my son's and my second trip to Tasmania. First Trip was to lake Pedder, and we loved it ( We did not catch anything, but was magic nevertheless )

This time the starting point is Launceston, and plan is quick stop at brumby's dams, on the way to Great Lake, Arthur's Lake, Woods Lake and Lake Crescen. the return to Launceston. We rent a 2 WD campervan.

I thought I get a few worms and Honey Maggots, before leaving Launceston, and use the spinners and lures fromt he tackle bag. We will be land based.

Any thoughts, hints, warnings, timps, suggestions?

THanks

Hi mate, I saw your pm before I saw this post so I replied to you but thought I'd post the reply up here to. It might be of some help to others in the future as well.

Hi mate,

I am by no means an expert but I will help with what I can. The Great Lake is a beautiful place if you like the high country. Take some warm clothes as it can get pretty cold at night. We only spent one night on the shores there and as we arrived late (about 1am) so we just camped at the boat ramp in Miena. There was a large flat area 20m up from the water that you could easily set up your caravan. There's a couple of boat ramps I think though but from memory I can't tell you exactly where it was but it did have a kind of floating wharf next to the ramp.

I've been told you don't need to go far from Miena to catch good fish. The bay there holds good numbers that often patrol the edges. We didn't do much land based fishing so I can't give much advice there. I was told though if you follow the bay around past Miena, past the pub then there's a long point on the right hand side that is good to fish from. You should be able to drive most of the way out there if you have a 4x4.

Are you taking a boat?