Targeting Snapper and Kingfish from land base SYD

Msmhw

Hi everyone,
I am new here, so first of all Merry Christmas and I hope you enjoyed the holiday with your families.

back to my topic. I am a beginner fisherman, I know the basics. I am targeting snappers and kingfhish.
I have been in many places the last two months but I couldn't catch any good fish all of them undersize. So wondering if any body happy to share some good land base fishing spots around Sydney?

I have tried Clifton Gardens, La perouse and Cremorne Reserve. I feel I am just wasting my time with these undersize fish. If you dont want to share your spots in public post feel free to PM I really appreciate it. I have car to drive around and happy to climb some rocks if I need to.

Also I am using prawns, squid and pilchards (for snappers) and have lure for the king fish. And my rig one sinker in the bottom and two hooks above it. like this one
https://i.ytimg.com/vi/AFnACxDbLMk/hqdefault.jpg

thanks in advance for any advise or help.

Hey mate, I'm not too sure about Snapper, but people have lots of success with Kings at Pier 2, just west of the Harbour Bridge:

post-35818-0-60906100-1451110433_thumb.png

The most popular baits are live Yellowtail and live/fresh squid. If you don't mind live-baiting, I'd recommend you try it here. Unfortunately the area can get quite busy (especially on weekends) and you'll have people regularly taking home undersized fish. If you are able to go on a weekday though, it is a great spot to fish (particularly for targetting Kings landbased).

Keep in mind that you're around quite a bit of structure and Kings are dirty fighters so it's difficult to be gentle with them (you'll see just about everyone locking their drags and skull-dragging the fish in).

I should mention that I'm yet to land a King (I was at Pier 2 when I hooked onto one though) so my advice is based on what I know has worked for a lot of people.

Thanks mate for your reply, I really appreciate it.