Me into the Lure fishing

BabySnapperKiller

TLDR: big kudos to @DerekD for his generous Lure101 lesson!

Context: I came across Fishraider forum, posted my first ask-for-help topic as I am new to fishing. Great conversations in the chats and lots of helpful advices. Then Derek is very kind to meet and show me about lure fishing. And we met, which is today!

Arrived at the spot in the early morning, brief intro, we jumped staright into the topic. Starting with my ugly casting using my 9ft "beginner" gear recommended by my experienced friend (who also came today as well), trying my best to cast as far as I can with 30lb braid. 

We all know how import casting it is, and we spent decent amount of time on that. Derek pointed out the uncomfortable things I have, showing us how, explaining to us why, demonstrating to us that we can. A few hours later, I was very confident of casting.

Then Derek, showed us different outfits, from the lighter, to the heavier ones, the difference among them, when we used them and why we used them. Different lures (I can tell from those lures by their looks and pictured how many fish they have lured), and most importantly, the techniques of lure fishing.

It is indeed, has to be in-person, when you can see it, feel it and practice with it, then you reliaze, withthin these few hours, you have gained so much experience that Derek has been through thourghout his journey. 

Really appreciate that! Such a beautiful day!

I am now browersing tackle shops and can't wait to gear up and have another one with Derek.

• Like 14

@Mr.Wang, good on you to take up @DerekD on his offer! Your experience has been common for new Sydney-based Raiders in recent years. Some have gone on to become quite successful in their own right. You'll no doubt follow in their footsteps.