Hawkesbury 25th

jewnut

Hi fellow raiders,

Fished my beloved Hawkesbury today with a couple of mates out in search of our long overdue Big Jewie. Just for the record, ive been chasing that elusive big one for seven years(no bull) and while ive caught heaps my biggest to date is 10kg. Now im not complaining but to not have cracked a big one (20kg+) in countless trips is heartbreaking and haunts me everyday...anyway we launched at Brooky at about 7am, recognised a members boat (Trouble) pulling his boat out as we launched and found out they had engine trouble (hopefully nothing major guys). Motored out to and decided to head downstream to my favourite spot and was thrilled to have the place to ourselves. Conditions were brilliant with overcast skies and just light drizzle, bait jumping around the place i was confident of a good day.

Armed with fresh squid and prawns we deployed our baits. Sipping on our first coffee one of the bream rods goes off big time so i grabbed the rod, set the hook and passed it on to my mates friend whos a first time fisho and he proceeded to pull in a fat 36cm bream...great start :thumbup: I kept telling my mate that things looked great and were ideal for a jew.

Over the next four hours they had a ball with constant bites on the prawns which ended up seeing 6 beautifully conditioned brem ranging from 26-36 cms and two flatties at 42 and 55cms on ice. While all the action was going on i sat and watched our 3 jewie rods, changing baits as they got picked to death by the little tackers. One finally managed to find the hooks and in came a 40cm baby jew (the river is full of them at the momoent which is great to see).