Swaying Boat

marcel haber

hi there fellow raiders,

Recently upgraded and did a huge make over on the boat trailor.

The trailor originally had 10 inch tyres which we have upgraded to 15 inch wheels.

I have a pongrass surfmaster which is made of fibre glass with a 50 horse power yamaha on the tail.

The boat is a open runabout.

I tow the boat behind a toyota SR5 Hilux 4wd and have noticed that whilst travelling on the motorway the boat and trailor seem to sway from side to side, the quicker you go the harder it sways, even at around 60 klms swaying still occurs.

Are there any solutions to this problem . let me know.

Tight lines

TWIN 1

MARCEL :beersmile::yahoo:

hi there fellow raiders,

Recently upgraded and did a huge make over on the boat trailor.

The trailor originally had 10 inch tyres which we have upgraded to 15 inch wheels.

I have a pongrass surfmaster which is made of fibre glass with a 50 horse power yamaha on the tail.

The boat is a open runabout.

I tow the boat behind a toyota SR5 Hilux 4wd and have noticed that whilst travelling on the motorway the boat and trailor seem to sway from side to side, the quicker you go the harder it sways, even at around 60 klms swaying still occurs.

Are there any solutions to this problem . let me know.

Tight lines

TWIN 1

MARCEL :beersmile::yahoo:

mate you may have to bring your axles fwd more, they are genrally 600-700mm fwd of the last roller on the trailer. Try this and I think you may have pleasent suprises. Good luck and pm me If you want more info

Twin 1 , get this problem sorted ASAP!! The potential for a jacknife situation is very high , and can have disasterous results. Make sure the boat is evenly loaded , and ensure that the tyre pressures are correct in both wheels. Also , as Mark suggested , moving the axles should have the desired effect.

Ross

Edited by rzep