Long Reef Sunday - 8 July 2007

Fishlick99

Hi Raiders,

I am new to Fishraider and have been enjoying reading reports for the last few months. It time to start to put in some of my own now. :1welcomeani: to me. Sorry no pics taken this time.

Had been hearing about plently of decent pan snapper at Long Reef so decided must get out there. 5am at the ramp in the cold and dark. I really don't like Long Reef ramp on a good day since having my boat swamped there last December. With a 1ft surge on the ramp launching my (soon to be retired) Bermuda 390 is hairy business. Dropped it in with my mate on board to start the motor and get out of the shore line ASAP.

No mishaps and we are heading offshore in pretty good conditions. When I fish at Long Reef I will usually start in close out the front in about 13m and drop the anchor and burley like crazy. I couldn't see anything on the sounder out front so went a little way off the Long Reef wall where it drops from 13m to 19m where I had a good reading on the sounder. 1st fish was a nice 2kg tailor on a floated unweighted pilly followed by the first snapper of the morning. Cutting all my old pillys and stuff for the burley at home the day before payed dividends. Off the same spot we caught over 20 good solid trevally (1.5kg ea), 5 snapper to 2kg and the usual rubbish fish. I switched to soft plastics from bait (squid and pilly) as I was getting sick of trying to avoid the sweep on the way down. 5" gulps in nuculear chicken and a pink/white worked well. I caught one nice snapper and a heap of the trevally on the plastics. Fished on the anchor till near tide change on the low at 10am when it started to get really quiet.

Had to cut my anchor off when trying to retrive it. Normally it pulls out as I use an anchor retriever ball but the chain must have wrapped up a bit. I prefer to ditch an anchor than pull my bow under....maybee next time I will use less chain with my reef pick?