Info Wanted

possumm

Hay everyone I'm new to Fishraider looking for info

I have just got myself a 95 haines Signature 492 with a 90 Yamaha pushing her

I'm wanting to know how far out it is to the reefs off sydney

Will my boat be ok for out there

I have been thinking of going out to browns but dont really know how far out it is ?

Also looking for reds

anyone help on this

thanks

:1fishing1:

Edited by possumm

Welcome to FishRaider

Nice sounding rig you have there. It should move along nicely with the realitivally light weight 90hp on the back.

Most importantly get to know your rig before heading offshore. Im not sure if this is your first boat or not. Id say do at least 2-3 outings inshore to gain confidience in your rig. Buy that i mean handling perks, stability, behaviour and mechanical reliability. Move out to the heads and then further as time goes by. Make sure you have the correct safety equipment of course.

Personally I would be more than comfortable taking that boat out to around 2-5 miles from shelter on calm to average days. They arent a overly huge boat in proportions for their length and ive heard they can be a littly rocky and tender at rest. Thats the pay off for having a "hi-tech" hull underneath. Rocky doesnt mean it will capsize, but just wobbly.

There are reefs at all distances and depths off Sydney. Even 1mile out there is some good water. Are you planning to fish out of Broken Bay or the Harbour etc most often? You could get dozens of suggestions from Stanwell park to Terrigal on here !

Browns is around 22miles from Botany Bay Heads. I would not suggest going in your boat at all. Yes, im sure you could make it out there, but i dont think anyone on this site would encourage it.

A number of the guys on here have been geting reasonable Red's recently in water 15-65m deep which equates to less than 5 miles out in most cases.