Blackfish Weed

gregr2

Hi all you blackfish addicts.

I have been fishing for these gems for a couple of years now, with varing results. Have tried many different types of weed collected from different areas. The other day I was at the local tackle shop and saw some frozen weed. I got some and when it defrosted it had a real distint odour which I had not experienced before. I thought this weed is off! , and didnt use it as it reeked. Anyway just recently I collected some weed from a new location and for the first time after storing this weed in the fridge overnight(as I usuallt do) to my surprise the fridge reeked of the same smell. I knew the weed was fresh so I went fishing with this weed that had cabbage leaf in with it and the blackies went wild for the cabbage tainted with this odour... coincidence or does anyone know if this smelly weed is actually what we should be fishing with. Anybody know the odour I speak of?

Hi Moonset ..... haven't you seen the blackie boys sniffin' the weed? That is the blackfish weed, of course! It usually has a fairly distinctive smell - somewhat similar to the smell of the blackie once it has been despatched!! But some varieties have more odour than others. Some have none, but still catches well. I have access to a 'wire weed' that smells like something you would put in a salad - but the other week, that was the only thing the blackies were taking!

I have some weed in the fridge that has been vacuum packed & you can still smell it!! Luckily, I am in charge of what goes into my fridge ..... not all blackie addicts can say the same!!! A mis-guided partner may ask for the 'smelly stuff' to be taken out!!! :1prop: