What Sort Of Gears Do I Have To Get For Rock Fishing

Guest timzz

Hi everyone, i'm new to fishing in australia and am currently living in maroubra. I would like to try my hands on rock fishing but i have no idea wat sort of gears do i need to get for a newbie. could anyone help me out? thanks

rock fishing is very dangerous, and should only be attempted under calm conditions, and initially in the company of people who know what they are doing. The first gear you need to buy is safety gear. Depending on the type of rocks you are fishing from you will need either cleats or rubber soled shoes, and light clothing. You should also never fish alone. It might be good to pay a guide for the first trip at least.

As far as tackle goes, depending on what you are chasing you can select a rod and reel. A light whippy rod and reel combo will set you up for bream and blackfish, with a bit more beef needed for drummer, ranging up to a powerful combo for pelagics or groper.

There are some great DVDs on sydney rock fishing that take you through safety, tackle and locations. I'd grab one of those and book a trip out with a guide. Then you'll be totally equipped and any specific questions you have can be answered with the wealth of knowledge here. It will save you time and money ultimately, and will help you avoid the dangers of the sport.

Hi timzz,

Welcome to Australia. Which country are you from?

You'll find plenty of people on this site who can help you with rock fishing. I could be one of them: while I no longer fish "the stones", I did for many years, and started over forty years ago. I used to fish the from the rocks near the pool at Maroubra, and also at Bondi, in the 70s and from the Harbord rocks in the 80s.

The most important thing to know about rock fishing is that it's DANGEROUS: each year dozens of foolish or careless fishos get washed in, many drown.