Car'less In Manly

russel_pollard

hey Guys,

Im new to your great country - and it is awesome to be back in a place surrounded by water and full of fish :thumbup:

Im naturally keen to get stuck back in and was wondering if anyone can point me in the direction of a few good spots in my locality for fly or lure fishing. Im currently living in Manly and I have made the trip to Narrabeen lakes with my spinning and fly rods which was good fun getting into the flatties on the SP's etc But busing it is/was a bit painful. Other fishing around Manly has yielded fish smaller than the cutlery used to eat it with.

As I have my priorities right, I have instead of buying a car bought a (small) tinny which Im storing at Little Manly.

So any guidance to a few spots either land based or within striking distance of a 5hp would be fantastic. in the meantime - I will probably be the only bloke in the harbour trolling for Kingfish from a 3.2m tinny :biggrin2:

Sabona Zuluboy welcome to paradise

Mate where to start... there are hundreds of places to fish with a small tinny. When you get a car you will be able to reach thousands.

If you havn't already read the "Articles" ( especially the ones by Ken Alexander ) section in this in this website do so. They are an excellent guide to the fish and methods and places to catch them. They are Hawkesbury based but most of the techniques apply to the harbour.

Pick yourself a species and target them. Kings could be an excellent start for you. Make sure you are not undergunned though. Each species seem to have their gurus so track them down on the site and ask them for help.

For some strange reason a lot of the techniques and rigs employed in Africa do not work well in this part of the Pacific so try and learn some of the local techniques - quick

This site is full of very helpful fishos at all levels and thus don't be shy to share and to ask.