Soft Plastics

kinghazza

HOW DO YOU USE YOUR SOFT PLASTICS?? I USUALLY GO THE SLOW RETRIEVE, THAT SEEMS TO WORK FOR ME :1fishing1:

i slow retrieve, twitch it, high stick it and a variety of other movements depending on what plastic is being used. im only new to it but ive caught a couple fish and am hooked on it.

Depends what you're fishing for.

For Flatties, I cast, let it hit the bottom, then give it two good whacks, wind up the slack, let it hit the bottom and repeat. :thumbup:

The sharp jerks get their attention and they usually smack it on the drop.

Edited by Ceph

For Flatties, I cast, let it hit the bottom, then give it two good whacks, wind up the slack, let it hit the bottom and repeat. :thumbup:

Same technique on the flatties for me too ceph,the flatties seem to really like it that way.

I think the right technique is whatever works sometimes just letting the plastic sit there works.

I do have to add that proper presentation when rigging up the SP is very important i.e making sure that it's swimming straight, not spinning around when winded in, etc....

Edited by bmar560

I'm not even close to being an expert but I have found little flicks and a slower retrieve in bream territory works best for me. Funny though the hard bodies in the same or similar spots seem to go better being pulled along much quicker.

Dave

• 2 weeks later...

ceph do use this technique when using squidgy fish as well? that is what i do with gulps but always thought that with the fish a slow rise of the rod tip was the way to go?

went out today and threw a few sp's around however the frustrating thing was the plastics were getting chomped in half at the back just before the hook. This happened for the next 10 or so casts without a decent hook up :(

does this happen often? i was thinking it was a tailor because i ended up running out of plastics and using hb's. Caught a few little tailors and pike.