Macdonald River Eels

Macster

Decided to get off the beaten track a little so Spud, the GF and I headed up Macdonald River, up where we were pretty confident the Waterways wouldn't be patrolling for a few quiet ales :beersmile:

Spent dusk on the horseshoe bend casting in and got a few hits but pulled in only eels - one almost a metre long. Vicious bastards! Set them loose but wondered later whether Eels are edible

:huh:

Hit the mouth of the Macdonald for half an hour after dusk to no results (though pulled in a nice legal bream there a week ago).

All in all a nice few hours on the water in a beautiful part of the world.

:fishing1:

• 15 years later...

I hate eels, get them all the time chasing Jew in the hacking and they are slimy horrible things. Wont typically even bring them in the boat, just cut them off and re-rig. That said I have had some funny experiences with them.

When I was younger I caught one on my dads hand line and mentioned I was going to cut it off. My dad however decided he wasn't going to loose a 50cent hook to some eel so he grabbed it by the back of the head to de-hook it. The eel responded by wrapping tightly around his arm and started to pull its head out of his grip. The only reason it didn't pull out and bite him was the fact that I still had the line tight pulling it back the other way. To get the thing off his arm he basically had to chop its head half off which took about 10min of hacking all the while its hissing and trying to bite him. Tough as a boot. Ended up with slime everywhere.