Morethan Branzino

gretsch

Hi Gyus,

As you may know, I am an expert in having big fish pull my expensive gear into the salt water and then retrieving said gear with a 1/2 ounce Nitro Jig head in Green/Yellow. :biggrin2:

This happened again a couple of weeks ago whilst fishing for Jewies landbased at the Harbour.

When I got home, I disassembled the reel, rinsed it in fresh water for a good 20 minutes and then sprayed the shit out of it with WD40.

The next day, I contacted Daiwa who responded as follows:

Chris,

Not seeing the reel I can’t make a full statement on it, but issues may have occurred. Bearing are sealed, but water can get in, but do to its thickness, not oil. By using the WD40 you will have stripped the water and grease out, but not been able to get oil back in. we say never use WD40 around reels, just something to keep in mind. At the moment whatever damage that is done is done, I would just use the reel and see if any consequences occur.

So, WD40 is a NO NO!! Do you guys share this opinion? Slinky, I would be interested in your take on this.

From a lot of experience, Alan Tani has observed that WD40 eventually turns to varnish, so it's not good as a reel lubricant. To be honest, it's not really designed as a lubricant at all but as a water displacement product. It has short term lubricating properties but doesn't, in the opinion of a lot of reel experts much more experienced than me, have the protection or lubrication properties needed for reels. There is some well informed opinion, that in fact it shortens the life of bearings and parts rather than extending them.

Of all the thousands of uses it has, lubing reels isn't one of them (cleaning and outer protective spraying is another conversation)

I think your reel first aid was the right way to go though for an immediate fix... the priority was to at least get rid of the salt and water (hopefully now done).