New Outfit Question

steze

Hi everyone, i just purchased a 7 ft Shimano Catana rod with a shimano sienna 2500 reel. I want to start fresh water fishing and im not sure on what size braid to get and also what type of lures should i be looking into as ive never used soft plastics or any other lures before except for metal lures. Any information would be great help as i am just starting out on this type of fishing.

Start off with 6lb braid and a 6lb leader. When you get more comfortable with using the outfit you could go down to 4lb but 6lb will give you a bit of leeway for some rough handling. Go for a good value braid first like Fireline or Stren Microfuse and don't over fill the spool. Make sure the line is 3mm from the lip to reduce wind knots until you get more comfortable.

Search the forums as there's heaps of stuff on the right knots for braid and how to get started.

What fish are you chasing so we can help you with lures etc.

C.

Edited by chrisg

Start off with 6lb braid and a 6lb leader. When you get more comfortable with using the outfit you could go down to 4lb but 6lb will give you a bit of leeway for some rough handling. Go for a good value braid first like Fireline or Stren Microfuse and don't over fill the spool. Make sure the line is 3mm from the lip to reduce wind knots until you get more comfortable.

Search the forums as there's heaps of stuff on the right knots for braid and how to get started.

What fish are you chasing so we can help you with lures etc.

C.

Hi Chris, thank you for your help. I am targeting bream, whiting, and flathead. The knots is something i have to look into thoroughly, I plan to use a fluro carbon leader as that seems like what most people use. According to our knowledge is my outfit decent quality? Only reason being going for the stradic was out of my budget and i didnt want something too expensive for my first lure and soft plastic outfit.

Its a good first outfit..no problems there.