1993 Yamaha 115Hp 2Stroke Water Pump Service

roosterman

Service on 1993 Yamaha 115 V4 water pump

Hi Guys,

Before i go on i would like to say i am not a marine mechanic just a handy guy who can do this sort of stuff and save a few $$ thats better spent on gear... always consult an expert as this is just a guide to show how easy things are to do yourself...

The reason i did this is because i noticed a loss of water pressure while flushing my motor so it is a good idea to get an idea of whats normal out of your tell tale (if ya have one) and if its slower you need to investigate if its a simple blockage or something a little more sinister..

Step 1.check gear lever is in neutral then you need to drain the oil out of the gearbox by putting a clean container under the bottom drainhole. remove bottom plug and check the magnet on end for metal filings etc,this is not good & if there is a bit there it will need further inspection of gears etc .remove top plug and oil should flow out of bottom hole,put fingers in oil coming out and rub together checking for gritty stuff,again not something you want to find...Oil should have a good color to it ,mine is golden color so all good.. not smell burnt or be cloudy or milky (a water contamination issue).

dscf2812.jpg

dscf2814.jpg

Step 2 .removing the box on this is easy as there is no linkage crap like Johnson/evinrude or some others as this uses a spline system to link box to leg. Undo speedo tube at front of motor

dscf2827.jpg

,then remove rubber cap above trim tab and remove bolt holding trim tab on.under the trim tab is a hidden bolt that is easily missed

dscf2825p.jpg

dscf2828a.jpg

and then 3 bolts eeach side holding box to leg..be carefull as once removed it may slide down but more than likely need a little pull.gently lower box keeping it straight so not to damage bushes/bearings up leg.