Locking rodholder idea thats been bugging me!

helliconia

As I've mentioned (a lot) I just bought my first boat and being a lazy git the idea of pulling all my gear off it all the time makes me tired just thinking it...

I have an idea for a pair of multi-rodholders that will lock to prevent low life scum from stealing my rods. Unfortunately I'm a terrible artist and even worse with tools (especially those that are powered!) so I hope my description can be understood.

The picture:

The back would be a flat piece of metal, with a gimballed type mount on the top for a bar that would lock (with a padlock or some other mechanism) to the bottom end of the plate.

On the side of the plate would be a number (I see 3 or 4) metal tubes, 10-15cm long and large enough diameter to take a rod comfortably, extending 90 degrees from the plate and welded to it.

The idea is that you insert the rod butt into the tube with the reel attached until the neck of the reel is flush with the end of the tube, then swing the locking bar down until it is flush with the other side of the reel neck and lock back to the plate. It would "sandwich" the reel seat and neck so the rod can't be pulled out of the tube and the reel can't be taken off the rod (the reel seat collar screwy thing would be insde the tube).

The back plate would be attached to the ribbing of my boat via a big ass rivet (or maybe a better way if someone knows one).

I know its not going to stop a really determined theif but it will stop those opportunists in their tracks!

Any ideas on how hard this would be to make or what it might cost?

I read through the tuna tube post and was pretty impressed with the result, maybe this is something that could be done in a similiar way if others see a need for them.

I trolled the net for days looking for a solution but couldn't find one. If someone knows of a product thats reasonably priced to do the job I'd love to hear about it.