Beach fishing

RPL

Hi, im just wondering if anyone can help me with a few beach fishing pointers.

I'm new to it all so I was wondering if people could answer a few questions i have.

I'm starting off targeting bread and butter species so here goes.

1. Do tides really matter? Whats the best tide to fish off the beaches? Ill fish Cronulla beach

2. What rig do I use? Normally my sinker gets twisted above the mainline where the swivel meets the lead.

3. What areas do I fish for bream and whiting? I've been told that I dont need to fish gutters but im not too sure?

Any other pointers would be greatly appreciated!

G'day RPL

i love surf fishing - getting your feet wet, facing the waves. Brilliant !

As to your questions:

1). Yes tides matter. You'l generally catch more around a tide change - but thats not to say you wont catch anything the other times. Also dawn / dusk play an important role too. Low tide just after dawn = perfect! I prefer to fish an hour before low tide to an hour after. Low tide you can see the gutters / holes better. Just remember low tide = food moving out to sea

2). I used to use a running sinker to a swivel to 3x 4/0 hooks ganged. Now i am converted to surf poppers. You can buy these pre-rigged for under 5 bucks. Basically its a patternosta rig with a surf popper on the top dropper (looks something like this: http://www.amazonoutdoors.com.au/e2Shop/uploads/330/surf_poppers.jpg), and ganged 4/0 on the bottom dropper. Large star sinker on the bottom. casts a mile and reduces tangles. 20lb line should give you some fun :biggrin2: (this setup is mainly for salmon / tailor - the bread and butter surf species)

3). bream / whiting prefer (from my experience anyway) a less surf beach. Any beach where the surf is under 1 foot. look for places where weed meets the sand. Running sinker to a long shanked hook (or jigging soft plastics) and you'l be good to go

Bit more info in another thread :