Extending Casting Platform

bmar560

Hello,

I'm planning to extend the casting platform on my boat to facilitate this breaming thing. How do I go about cutting out the plywood to the shape of the boat ? My fishing buddy and I are planning to do the "surgery" on our own.

Also, where can I get a marine grade plywood ? I'll need it to extend my casting platform. I'll also need new carpets as well.

cheers,

Mario

Guest Jewel

Fishrunner has done some extensive work of that type to his boat, I fortunately am able to reap the benifits without having been part of the building process. :1naughty:

I believe beer and a jigsaw were the main tools used!

Guest fishrunner

yeah, swoffa's pretty much right,I did a front and rear platform(wouldn't say I was an expert hough, specially considering the 1st cutout wasn't to my satisfaction and had to be done again, :074: . Materials such as marine ply, carpet, sealants(if marine ply not used), can be sourced at various hardware and outdoor places.

cut out template-strong cardboard will do the job(fridge box, etc),

cut out ply with jigsaw,

seal all cut edges,

cut out carpet-allow 7-10cm overlap,

bond to surface of ply,

roll over edges to underside of ply and attach there(sml nails or staples, I've also seen velcro used-good if you wish to remove carpet to wash,-hassles though).

drop into boat,well supported of course,

I put cross beams for underside for strength plus supports for weight :beersmile: ,

5 to 7ply req'd, I used 5ply and have found the strength good,(not many of my mates are lightweights :074::beersmile: ).

I'm happy with the outcome,would prob do a few things different next time, you can always improve it.

hope this helps

cheers :beersmile: