Thompsons Creek dam

Day One/Saturday.

I almost landed my first Trout on my new fly rod & reel! I say almost.......

I arrived at the dam relatively early, at around 7:30am, and headed towards the west bank. Upon reaching there, I could see that the wind was blowing fairly strongly across the dam, but knew that this would be a great spot to target some fish.

Not long after starting to fish with the new fly rod, I had a great follow, and was encouraged that this was going to be a good day's fishing!

This however, seemed to be the flavour of the day for me, as I proceeded to get follow after follow.

I tried several fly patterns, but just couldn't connect.

I switched to the lure rod, and again had follow after follow, but just couldn't connect.

I Recently purchased some strike indicators to use with a floating fly line, whilst fishing with a submerged nymph. I've never used them before, but thought I would give them a go.

I cast out my line with a small gold bead head green nymph, and sat down for a quick rest, placing my rod on the bank.

I glanced away for a few seconds...When I looked back, I could see that the indicator had disappeared under the water!

I picked up the rod, tightened up he slack line and sure enough I was on!

It felt solid...Bang! Right in front of me, a hefty female rainbow lept out of the water like a rocket fuelled torpedo!

I got a good look at her, and I estimate she was between 6-8LB if not bigger.

She proceeded to go on a big run to my left, straight towards a submerged bush.

I applied as much side strain as I could, but could not stop her! With that, it was all over, she had got the leader tangled up in the bush.

I went over and could see her, around 3 metres down a steep drop off, caught up in the bush.

I tried for several minutes to get the line untangled, but soon realized that it was hopeless.

I snapped the line, thinking to myself, oh well, you don't always land them all.