Fishing pittwater

adzo64

Hi everyone, I'm new to the fish raider scene and was hoping to get some advice from fellow fanatics! I'm, looking at gaining some knowledge of pittwater. I've been out a few times and had some success with bream and tailor on nippers at sand point. I now want to step it up and chase some snapper and kingies. I've gone and bought myself a squid jig and a few yakka rigs along with a baitrunner combo to handle the bigger fellers. So I'm after some advice on live bait grounds and methods as well as a few locations and techniques for catching snapper and kingies. Any help is much appreciated. Thanks!

Hi mate,

Pittwaters a great spot when you figure it out. Definitely try and get some yakkas and squid. West head for yakkas (very easy 95% of the time here) but burley is required. Anchor around 60m off the old pillbox on the cliffs. Squid in similar area. Basin and Palm Beach weed beds for squid are worth a shot. West head itself can be a gun spot. Winter has salmon, tailor, bream, snapper and trevally. In summer kings, salmon, bonnies, jewfish and bream. Unweighted pillies go well here too. My "Spot x" would have to be stokes pt. Southern point of careel bay. Great in winter for big flatties, bream, salmon and trevally. In summer kings, flatties, bream and people have caught school jew here too. Live yakkas are gun with pilli fillets and prawns. Burley helps too!

Other spots worth a look are Taylors Point, Basin, Portequese Beach/Coasters Retreat, Barrenjoey Head and Scotland Island. Some times you have to find the fish. If you don't get any fish within 1/2 hour then move onto another spot. Keep at it and you'll get some ripper fish! Flint n Steel reef at the entrance to the hawkesbury is worth a look too for kings and jews.

Cheers, Tom