Muchconfused

aceace

Hey guys, im relatively new to fishing and i have a few questions which i was hoping that you guys could answer for me. Firstly, is there anything wrong with using a 40lb braid line to catch like 2lb fish. Also whats is the point of using those leader things. Thanks :)

Hi ace,

Firstly your question poses many questions! If you are relatively new to fishing, you've found the right place here on FR.

My suggestion would be to read as many posts as you can and use the search function to browse whatever question you have. There is a wealth of info on this site and can make for very useful tips and techniques.

Once you have a target fish in mind, read up and spend some time chasing that species. Flathead are a good starting point and there will be plenty of bycatch as well.

Good luck and look forward to reading your posts.

Cheers scratchie!!!

Lol.. In my opinion using 40lb line to drag in a 2 lb fish kinda defeats the purpose... Might as well use a net... :)

But hey if catching bream on tuna gear gives you fun I guess I got got no right to stop you... It's kinda not fair though... Poor fish got no chance once you hook up,,, you end up skull dragging them outta the water.

About the leader, well I can't tell you much except for the fact that I never use them.... I run my line straight to the hook, possibly with or without a sinker and swivel, depending on how strong the current is, if I can get away with it I will use no sinkers whatsoever...

I ain no professional or anything I just fish for fun.. It's all fun and experience in the end.

as a general rule when bottom bashing outside i fish 15kg braid and use lighter leader / sinker weight as required but if fishing inside i tone down too 3 or 4 kg, unless targeting kings then its 15 kg again

Edited by kikila