Clifton Gardens Fishing Report

pengo

Hi Fishraiders,

this is going to be my first official post. I moved to Sydney about 6 months ago and have been trying various spots I have read about. I haven't had much luck so far since I am still learning the ropes but I have always liked the convenience and accessibility of Clifton Gardens. So I decided to give it a try last Saturday night. I arrived around 9:30 PM thinking the gates will be closed and the crowds gone.

The place was PACKED. Way more packed than usual with a few families even camping out on the wharf.

I decided to skip the usual spot at the end of wharf and move to the side since it was the only area with a spot open. As a rig, I was using a double paternoster rig with frozen pilchards.

Within 30 minutes I was able to catch 3 undersized snappers along with countless snags of other fisho's fishing lines. At the end the effort and the headache was worth it because I landed my first legal size Trevally. That's one hard fighting fish and good tasting as well!

Around midnights the bites suddenly stopped and I decided to call it a night. By that time the wharf was still as packed as before in addition to loud Arabic music blaring from a Ghetto blaster :)

I know many people dislike Clifton Gardens because of the crowds but now that I have caught my first legal Bream and Trevally there it has become my favourite spot. I hope I can find more convenient spots like it.

post-30725-0-17017600-1389671146_thumb.jpg

Edited by pengo
  • Like 1

Well done on your first legal Trevor mate. Whilst Clifton does still produce, it gets too busy for my liking and there are other much quieter spots that produce better fish. Used to be a favourite haunt of mine but unfortunately there are a few tools who go there. Just as a suggestion if you want to avoid small snapper and tangles fish with a very small sinker, you get more hits from trevs/bream/kings and much less small snapper.