Getting to grips with boating ( the hard way)

NaClH2OK9

If you've caught any of my other posts you'll know im a noob with this boating game. I'm trying to fathom the handling of my new toy whilst watching all those around me ( including boat fulls of kids ( no prejudice infered) ) whistle past me without a care in the world and spinning their boats round like Barry sheen ( now I'm showing my age).

Ok the situation. I've got an old 5.2 M alloy half cabin (with a 70hp motor) . Plenty big enough to put her on the plane. I'm aware of the importance of trim when being on the plane and have practiced this but on the whole I don't push the throttle that far as I have had a couple of scares.

When traveling at anything above low speed I'm finding that the boat is really affected by even the smallest of waves or wakes from other boats. On more than one occasion I've found that I've been pulled or pushed to one side or another that I don't have the strength to fight through it and the boat almost nose dives jarring sharply over the more I fight it with the only solution being to back off the throttle and come to an almost stop.

A couple of ideas come to mind

1. I'm driving it like an arse

2. There is something wrong with the boat design or setup.

I've been reading up on things like chine walk and stern steer and this may just be a case of the boat being too down trim happy at rest and I need to bring her way up from rest for even low speed use but I clearly need some help getting to the bottom of this to enjoy my boat.

Can anyone recommend a local engineer or boat driving instructor who can help me understand this. Or does it sound familiar to any of you?

Thanks for reading this far.

Steve

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk

Edited by Cluster13

Steve.

Sounds like your having some trouble handling your boat.

Its hard to say what the cause of this could be but i will tell you my thoughts.