Lure vs Bait

Jay88

Good Evening fellow Raiders,

So, I spent a lot of time watching videos and reading, but would like a bit more information on using lures for salt water land based fishing.

I usually have trouble obtaining fresh bait and it does get a bit costly with the amount of hours I try putting in each week to go fishing. At the same time, if you guys advice bait works better, I will happily try be best to continue doing what I am doing.

As I fish Sydney harbour a lot, and will be beach fishing when summer kicks in, I was wanting to know how well lures work for species such as tailor, salmon, bonito (I am even happy with bream as I am still learning) :) ?

And what KIND of lures should I be focusing on purchasing and the method in retrieval (I usually let it sink, and do a fast retrieve if using metal)

Any pics of lures would be highly appreciated and once again, thank you for the support and time for reading my post! :) Happy Raiding!

Jay

Lures 101....

First I've been fishing soft plastics for over 10 years and if they didn't work I wouldn't have persisted so long. If I am teaching someone to fish I use bait but I prefer lures for most of my fishing for a number of reasons. When fishing with a friend using bait they might catch more fish but my fish are generally bigger. Throw a piece of food in the water and generally the smaller fish race in and the bigger fish follow up to take anything which might be left. With a lure the smaller fish might pick at it but I still have a chance at picking up something bigger. Most of my biggest fish have been on lure but my 104cm mulloway was on a squid I caught earlier that afternoon on a lure. I can keep my fishing gear and lures in the car and if I decide to go for a fish at last minute I don't have race out to find bait. My hands don't stink of bait after a session either.