Boat Neutral Bond

rozza_b

Hey all,

Have recently re-wired my boat after finding the previous owner had done a disgraceful job of it, replaced the stainless bolt that was through my console as the neutral point with a actual neutral bar but now im left wondering though do i need to bond the hull of my boat to the neutral ?? have done a heap of reading online but to be honest never seem to be able to get a definitive answer some say yes some say no......if yes what do people use to connect the neutral to the hull to prevent galavanic reaction (ie not a stanless bolt lol) I am a sparky by trade but this is somewhat outside of my normal scope of work, anyways thanks in advance

Rozza

In a aluminium boat all earths should run back to the battery via the use of insulated busbars etc.Your engine should be earthed directly to the battery.All accesorry grounds should go to a busbar that should run to the battery.Never wire a ally boat like a car where the body is a ground(in this case theHull),that's the worst thing you can do.

Hope this helps mate.

Edited by Fab1

Hi fab1. I agree with all dc sources being run back through low resistance cable to the battery. What are your thoughts on chassis bond as the secondary path similar to aircraft which are also aluminium. They do it primarily for static issues to remove electrical noise. I am not suggesting the boat frame be the only dc return path to the battery.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hi fab1. I agree with all dc sources being run back through low resistance cable to the battery. What are your thoughts on chassis bond as the secondary path similar to aircraft which are also aluminium. They do it primarily for static issues to remove electrical noise. I am not suggesting the boat frame be the only dc return path to the battery.