Landbase fishing at Woy Woy (help me a noob out).

Howe

Hi Fishraiders.

I'm a noob at landbase fishing, never caught a legal size fish :I, every time i go fishing its either small fish or no fish. I'm planning to go to Woy Woy by train and was wondering if there are any spots that i should go have a flick. I'm using prawns as bait. (mainline -> sinker -> swivel -> hook), is this a good set up?. I'm hoping to catch a legal size whiting, bream or flathead.

Many Thanks.

Pls be specific of the spots, google map images would be helpful :).

Hey Mate

Set up is fine for those species, I'd recommend nothing more that 10lb mainline onto a 6lb leader (the lighter you fish the more hookups generally) 1m length.

Prawns are OK, frozen are not the best but still catch fish. Cooked vannamei prawns (Thailand ones from the deli @ coles / Woolies) are a gun bait for bream & flatties, fresh local / live baits such as worms or nippers even better.

As for fishing in Woy Woy I'm no expert but I've seen the area, a general rule is finding a spot with moving water, differing depths and a mix of sand and weed - that should get you started.

If you come into Woy Woy by train walk north on Brisbane Water Dr (the road that goes to West Gosford) and fish from the rocks under Spike Milligan bridge. Cast lightly weighted baits into the channel under the bridge and let them drift with the current. You can fish from the rocks on either side, so pick the side where the wind will help rather than hinder the cast. Dawn or dusk are the prime times if you are committed :)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hey mate,

I have not fished Woy Woy for a while but when I use to I always started at the the T wharf that the ferry goes to. Which you can see at the right of the screen shot below

2bf73d952da43bb880bcf9c9f0c0f3b4.jpg