Baitcasting Rod Queries

Aero

Okay,

Got a question in regarding how guides should be positioned on a baitcasting rod.

Should at any stage the when a baitcaster is loaded up, the line run on, or below the actual blank?

If it does, is this normal ? are certain rods designed like this? (not talking about spiral wraps)

OR is it a case of incorrectly spaced guides? or not enough guides to cater for the action of the rod?

Chris

Okay,

Got a question in regarding how guides should be positioned on a baitcasting rod.

Should at any stage the when a baitcaster is loaded up, the line run on, or below the actual blank?

If it does, is this normal ? are certain rods designed like this? (not talking about spiral wraps)

OR is it a case of incorrectly spaced guides? or not enough guides to cater for the action of the rod?

Chris

71504[/snapback]

Gday Chris

I am no expert by any means, but I would say definatly not! sounds like the guides are indeed incorrectly placed

cheers

Chris

Normally its simply a bad choice of blank by the rod manufacturer, it is pretty simple stuff to get the guides right on a blank . Some of the newer slow tapered, yet fast loading graphite rods on the market are more suited to being used as spin rods, but are being built up as baitcasters. Not sure if this is the case with the rod you looked at chris, but its another way to look at it.

I think Andrew once made mention of a relatively expensive of the shelf rod that did that. Apparently it was normal for that particular rod. Can't recall what it was though! :wacko:

Bash,

If this is one of the newer slow tapered fast loading blanks, that dont really suit their stated baitcasting applications, why are they being built in that configuration?

71559[/snapback]