New to lure fishing

Mr_clownface

Hi there,

i am new to lure fishing and have purchased a few soft plastic lures and some halco twisty metal lures,

i really enjoy beach fishing(bait) and thought this would be a good way to start lure fishing,

i have a few questions,should I tie these lures directly to my line or use a snap swivel is something else so to easily change to different lures?

and what about hard body diving and soft plastic lures,

any help is appreciated thanks.

Some people prefer - direct to leader, while some - to ring or snap(swivel). 

I fish usually at night with a number of lures so I prefer easy and quick change with snaps(swivel) instead of tying knots each time.  Another benefit of the swivel is reducing the line twisting due to some lure action. Please note that the size of snap(swivel) should not be too large or too small comparing lure size otherwise it may impact the lure action or may not stop the fish.

I might suggest you to get snaps of several sizes and shapes to fit a lure if you decide to use them.

For a long time I used swivels, and as Savit said they are great for quickly changing lures or even jigheads. You do need to be mindful of selecting the correct swivel to suit the lure you are using. Too heavy will have an adverse effect on the lure swim characteristic. As with everything, you get what you pay for. Many of the cheap swivels can fail under load. Not what you want when hooked up to the fish of a lifetime.

As most of my fishing is in daylight hours, or under a light on a jetty, I have migrated to using the Loop knot, or sometimes called the Rapala knot.  http://www.netknots.com/fishing_knots/rapala-knot for lures, and use an Improved Clinch Knot http://www.netknots.com/fishing_knots/improved-clinch-knot for tying jigheads.